Yummy dairy-free orange spice biscuits (with vegan option)

IMG_20150620_155228

I am very pleased with this recipe. I had fun perfecting it and they taste fabulous. Perhaps a bit Christmassy for some people at this time of year but I am a sucker for cinnamon all year round.

IMG_20150514_194111Anyone who has read my posts before will know that I always end up with over-ripe bananas. I just can’t help it. One minute they are green the next they are black. Damn, it has happened again. So I always have bananas to experiment with. They are a brilliant egg substitute if the egg is required in the recipe for binding purposes, as it is in this recipe. You cannot taste the banana in these biscuits, which makes me feel rather sneaky and clever. No one wants all of their egg-free baking to taste of banana. Applesauce would also work in this recipe, instead of banana or egg. Goodness me, I don’t think I have typed ‘banana’ as many times in my whole life as I have in the past two minutes. Right, enough burbling from me. Now to the baking!

IMG_20150514_212816

Yummy dairy-free orange spice biscuits (with vegan option)
Makes about 30 medium sized biscuits

175g muscovado sugar
85g syrup
100g Vitalite (or another dairy-free margarine)
350g plain flour
3tsp ginger
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp mixed spice
Zest of one orange
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1 egg OR ¼ cup of mashed banana/applesauce (you don’t taste either over the spices)

  1. Melt sugar, syrup and marge in a saucepan over a low heat.
  2. Meanwhile put a teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda in a small dish with a little water. Put flour, spices and zest into a bowl.
  3. Add the egg or banana, wet mixture and bicarbonate of soda and mix well. You will end up with a sticky mixture. Don’t worry, you don’t have to roll this out yet. Far too sticky!
  4. Allow mixture to cool a little and then spoon out onto cling film, wrap and leave in the fridge to cool and solidify for about an hour.
  5. Preheat oven at 170˚c fan oven, 190˚ normal oven and Gas Mark 5. Grease two baking trays.
  6. Roll out the mixture to about 5mm. It is easier to split the mixture and do the rolling out twice; there is a lot of dough!
  7. Bake for about 10-12 minutes until a rich copper colour. Allow to cool for a couple of minutes on the trays then move to a wire rack. These are lovely iced with water icing (perhaps made with the juice from your zested orange) or dipped in chocolate or even have a mess around with some fondant icing like I did on one of my many batches. You choose!
  8. Optional final step-take a photo and tag it #amysbakes on Twitter or Instagram so I can see your biscuits!
Leave a Reply

