Easter egg macarons

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Hello! I thought I was would scribble down the recipe I used for my Easter egg shaped macarons. I started with this Delicious Magazine Round Macarons recipe and got tweaking. Firstly, I scaled it down. Their recipe makes 20 pairs, I just wanted to try them out so I divided the recipe by 3 and added my flavour and colour making about 6 pairs. I will detail my version of the recipe below, but feel free just to use the original recipe!

An important person, important to me and to a lot of other British bakers I would think, was not impressed that I hadn’t tried to make macarons. At first, of course, I sulked (privately, I am British after all). But recently I gained the courage and bit the bullet, so to speak. And they weren’t that bad! My main mistake was not letting a skin form properly before baking, this is what makes macarons crack. HOWEVER, the hand-painted vine affect I went for completely disguises the cracks and will still look beautiful if you are much more patient than me and don’t have any cracks to hide!

Here is the egg shape I drew up to use, I have popped a ruler in for scale. That way if you don’t fancy drawing your own egg shape to follow you can print mine off at roughly the right scale.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Easter egg Macarons
Makes 6 macarons (12 meringues stuck together to make pairs)

60g icing sugar
45 g ground almonds
1 medium egg white
25g caster sugar
½ tsp almond flavour (you choose your flavour!)
a few drops of food dye (I used yellow)

  1. Preheat the oven to 160°C/fan140°C/gas mark 3. Cut a sheet of baking paper the size of your baking sheet. Using the above template, or your own egg shape, draw 12 eggs (3 rows of 4 is easiest) about 2cm apart and then flip the sheet over so you don’t eat the ink.
  2. Blitz the icing sugar and ground almonds in a food processor. Sieve into a bowl when the mix is very fine.
  3. In a different bowl, beat the egg white and a pinch of salt to soft peaks. I use my Kitchenaid for this (I love stand mixers).
  4. Gradually whisk the caster sugar into the egg mixture, and add your colouring and flavouring until mix is lovely thick, glossy bowl of prettiness. I went for ½ tsp of almond essence (I had to enhance the ground almond flavour, it’s just too yummy) and a few drips of Wilton’s extremely powerful food colouring in yellow. Remember, the colour will get lighter when you add the almonds and icing sugar so slightly over colour the egg mixture.
  5. Carefully fold in half of the ground almonds and icing sugar. Then add the other half, making sure to cut and fold the mix well.
  6. Once the mixture is thick and makes a ribbon on top of the mixture when you drip a spoonful back into the bowl pop it into a piping bag with a 1cm plain nozzle.
  7. Pipe onto your baking paper with all the eggs on. I found the best way was to pipe the egg shape just inside the outer line of the template making a perfect slightly smaller egg, as the mix will spread a wee bit to fill the outline.
  8. Once you have piped them all slam your tray down hard on the worktop, this creates a nice ‘foot’. Leave the macarons to dry for at least 30 mins. The original recipe said 10-15 mins but it wasn’t long enough for a skin to completely form on mine. You should be able to gently touch the top of one without any mixture sticking to your finger. This should prevent cracking.
  9. When they are dry pop them in your oven for 15 mins. Take them out and let them cool.
  10. Whilst they cool you can whip up a filling to sandwich your pairs of eggs together. I went for almond buttercream but you can use whatever you like; any flavour butter cream, chocolate ganache or even Nutella! I used 50g butter, 100g icing sugar, ½ tsp almond essence and a hint of pink Wilton food dye, beaten together really well.
  11. Pipe your filling onto your cooled macarons and sandwich them! Voila! Let them buttercream set and then…it’s time for painting! If you want to that is, it can get a bit fiddly and these eggs are pretty cute on their own. I use Squires Kitchen food paint.
  12. Below is a shot of me painting cake toppers, I just wanted to show you guys an example of my workspace. I smother my desk with inspo to make sure I have something to refer to when I am painting. For the egg macarons I pretty much just followed my cracks (oops, impatience is not a virtue!) for the vines and used my wee floral notebook (see image below) to get some rough flower head shapes. Find some inspiration (googling flowers or vines is pretty good) and go have fun! Tag #amysbakes if you post a picture on Insta so I can have a wee nosey 🙂

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Leave a Reply

