McDougalls Lemon Spice Cake

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

So… this is the best lemon drizzle recipe you will ever find. I know the title says lemon spice, but that is the official title for this cake. You see, this is 100% NOT my recipe. This is a recipe that my mum cut out of a magazine or flyer and popped in her recipe box many moons ago. I was entirely unable to find the recipe when I looked for it online a while back and my lovely Mumma emailed it to me. I decided that the baking world could not continue to exist without this DELICIOUS recipe being easily accessible. You think I am being melodramatic but I’m really not. This is the best cake in the world. Below is a scanned image of the original cut out. I have typed out the recipe too, with some (probably not so wise) words of wisdom.

Screenshot_2016-02-18-11-23-46

This still my favourite cake. It is a drizzle so maybe isn’t quite as aesthetically pleasing as a big iced beauty, but boy oh boy you cannot beat this cake for flavour. The warmth of the brown sugar coupled with the zing of lemon and hint of mixed spice is just the perfect combination. Don’t believe me? Try it!

Lemon Spice Cake

100g butter or margarine (4 oz) (super easy to do dairy free with margarine, I use Vitalite!)
100g soft brown sugar (4 oz)
150g McDougalls self-raising flour (any brand will obviously be fine!)
½ tsp mixed spice
2 eggs
Rind and juice of one lemon
75g caster sugar (3oz)

1. Grease and line an 18cm square or 20.5cm round cake tin. I doubled the cake recipe and multiplied the drizzle (lemon juice and caster sugar) by 1.5 to make a 25cm x 20cm x 3.5cm deep (10” x 8” x 1 ¾”) tray bake using Lakeland’s brownie pan.

2. Warm the fat and brown sugar in a pan.

3. Stir in lemon rind, flour, spice and egg

4. Pour into prepared tin and bake for 25-30 minutes at 180°c/350°F/Gas mark. I’m pretty sure this recipe was written before fan ovens were all the rage, I took my fan oven down to about 165°c.

5. Mix lemon juice and caster sugar and pour over warm cake. Allow to cool in the tin.

6. If you guys make this recipe feel free to use the tag #amysbakes on Instagram on Twitter so I can see your bakes 🙂 I really hope you love it as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

